GFIA announces new executive committee – Joey Garcia elected Chairman for 2014/2015


The Gibraltar Funds and Investments Associations held their Annual General Meeting at the Elliott Hotel on June 30 with more than 50 members of the Association in attendance. The members of GFIA were welcomes with a full English breakfast creating informal round table discussions.

The agenda began with an address to the audience made by Joanne Beiso, Head of Funds Supervision at the Financial Services Commission with is focused on the developing changes in the regulatory landscape and hinted at closer attention to the corporate governance of funds moving forward. This was followed by a speech of the Chairman James Lasry covering the year in review. A summary of the work carried out by the different sub-committees (Technical, Marketing and Training) was then presented to the members and a Treasurer’s report together with presentation of audited financial statements completed the programmes before the election of the new Executive Committee and the Chairman. 


Joey Garcia elected Chairman…

The GFIA announced its new Executive Committee for 2014/2015.

Joey Garcia was selected by the Executive to act as the Chairman of GFIA for the upcoming year.

Joanne Sene (Secretary), Moe Cohen (Treasurer), Benjy Cuby (Head of Marketing), James Lasry (Head of Technical and Deputy Chairman), Yan Delgado (Head of Training), Carlos Martins (Deputy Head of Training, Johann Olivera (Deputy Head of Technical) and Jonathan Tricker will form the executive committee for 2014/2015.

The Executive Committee is dedicated to carrying on the hard work and providing GFIA’s members with a year full of events and progress in what promises to be a busy year of developments.

More insights View all news and insights